Posted by: Alex Borders | December 19, 2010

What are “Waldorf” toys anyway?


Sunday 19th December 2010

The Waldorf School of Philadelphia is now closed for the holidays and will re-open on Monday 3rd January.

You too may be busy preparing for the holidays, doing last-minute shopping, baking goodies and wrapping beautiful gifts for friends and family.  It was while I was gift wrapping that I became very aware that my choice of gifts this year has changed.   Simplified, if you will.  What had made my choices different from previous years?  This thought led me to wanting to find out what made a Waldorf toy different from other toys.  So I did what most of us do and I turned to Google for the answer.  My search led me to Christopherus Homeschool Resources webpage and a recently published interview with Sarah Baldwin, owner of Bella Luna Toys.  Here I found the answer to my question.  Sarah Baldwin writes:

Choosing toys is not about “good toys” vs “bad toys”.  Rather it is about bringing new consciousness to selecting children’s playthings.  Ask yourself:

  • Is it beautiful?
  • Doe it feel good?
  • Does it leave room for the imagination?
  • Will it inspire imitative play?

If you can answer yes to these questions, you will be providing your child with all the tools needed for years of healthy play!

I encourage you to read the complete article at http://christopherushomeschool.typepad.com/blog/2010/11/what-are-waldorf-toys.html

Also visit Bella Luna Toys at http://www.bellalunatoys.com/

Happy Holidays!  May your days be filled with peace and light.

Responses

  1. So glad you found my article on Waldorf toys helpful. Thanks so much for sharing. Warm wishes for a peaceful holiday, and a new year full of play!

    • Hello Sarah, We really loved your article and love Bella Luna Toys too. Hope that you enjoy reading our blog. Thanks so much for visiting! Peace, Alex.


Leave a Reply

Categories

