Posted by: Alex Borders | November 14, 2010

The Soup Stone Lottery


Sunday 14th November

The Soup Stone Lottery by Sonja Seawright

At the end of her first week of school (a Wednesday), my four-year old, Quinn, came out of her classroom with a tale to tell.  You see, Wednesday is soup day, and as it turns out, there is a magic soup stone which helps to make the soup.  And if that weren’t enough, Quinn explained to me, jumping in place, the soup stone ends up in someone’s bowl!  And that kid gets to help collect all the napkins!  I mean, is that the most amazing thing you’ve ever heard?  Magic stones!  Napkin collection!  Who wouldn’t want to get that soup stone?  Only a fool – a fool, I tell you.  And Quinn is no fool.

Ever since first week, we have headed into Quinn’s classroom on Wednesday morning with one burning question on both our minds: “Is today the day?  Will Quinn win the soup stone lottery?”  Weeks of crushing disappointment followed, and then, at long last, this past Wednesday, QUINN GOT THE SOUP STONE!  No victory has ever felt sweeter – not even those she worked for and actually deserved.

I felt the corners of my eyes moistening as Quinn and I celebrated an accomplishment that represented no effort on her part whatsoever.  “Quinn, you did it!” I said again and again.  I had just embraced her in a heartfelt hug when Ms. Erin coughed discreetly from the doorway of the classroom.  She was holding a basket (and not a small one) completely full of dirty cloth napkins.  With a smile, she held out the basket to me and said pleasantly, “Here, these are for you to wash.  Have a great weekend!”

“I got the soup stone, and you get to wash all the napkins, Mama!” Quinn said, jumping up and down once more.

As they say, be careful what you wish for.

Responses

  1. LOL! Oh those teachers, so clever with their “rewards.” I remember stuff like that from my preschool. No fool, indeed. 😉

  2. I love how clever teachers can be. Things like this always remind me of Tom Sawyer whitewashing the fence.


Leave a Reply

Categories

